Review–The Murderer’s Daughter by Jonathan Kellerman

Grace Blades is a young, brilliant psychologist enjoying a very successful private practice, when a chance encounter turns her world upside down forcing her to revisit a very painful and traumatic past.

This is stand-alone novel by Jonathan Kellerman, author of the always reliable Alex Delaware series. I am an absolute fan of Jonathan Kellerman (read me rave about his books Survival of the Fittest and Devil’s Waltz so I was so very excited to get this book to review. Initially, I was unsure about it and was getting ready to be disappointed by Kellerman for the first time–I wasn’t feeling the love for the main character Grace. She’s initially presented as a bit of an odd duck, a loner who spends a lot of time in her head. I was turned off her by her off-beat approach to her patients–long embraces and mentally referring to them as “The Haunted.” As a psychologist, I am always hopeful a book will portray a psychologist doing some evidence-based treatment for the disorders they were treating and I felt disappointed Dr. Blades was not delivering… then we got the first flashback and I was hooked.

The novel goes back and forth between present day and Grace’s childhood into early adulthood. This storytelling device would be irritating in lesser hands, but Kellerman deftly weaves the tale of Grace’s development into who she is now, preparing her and us for how Grace will handle the seemingly unsolvable situation put before her. I quickly found myself bonding to Grace, investing in her, and cheering her on. Wanting her to be successful. The story is greatly paced and left me wanting for more. I know Grace Blades is unlikely to carry a full-length novel again, but I sure wouldn’t mind if she did!

I received this book for free (but would happily have paid for it!) from Net Galley

