Review–No Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary

In No Other Darkness, the second in the DI Marnie Rome series, DI Rome must solve a truly bizarre case. The bodies of two children are found in an underground bunker, well-taken care of but in late stages of decay. Her team works to identify the children, the motivation for their deaths, and who may have left them there.

While this plotline was not the most exciting from an action perspective (no one is in any immediate danger), I did enjoy the overall unraveling of the mystery and that it was a true mystery with some actual detective work happening. Too often the crime thrillers I read have implausible detective skills or simply multiple coincidences that lead them to the killer (or the killer to them). In this novel, DI Rome and her team actually track down leads, look at suspects, and follow-through on solving this bizarre mystery.

I enjoyed the characters but did find there were too many secondary police officers and detectives who I couldn’t keep track of since they had no major personality characteristics or side stories. That’s a minor complaint though. The pacing of the story was generally good although I felt certain parts of the climax were alternately too long and over too quick.

I enjoyed this book and will look for more from this author.

I received this book for free from Netgalley

