Recipe – Seafood and cilantro pasta

A little break from the reading! I also love cooking, and even though I had delicious chili in the fridge I was really in the mood some fresh food tonight. I was particularly craving seafood and pasta. Normally, when I make any kind of seafood pasta it’s with a white wine sauce and fresh flat Italian parsley. But alas, I didn’t have any of those, so got a bit creative with some cilantro! I must apologize since I don’t measure anything!

My ingredient list:

  • Half a box of linguine pasta boiled to al dente (and very salty) with 1/2 cup of pasta water held in reserve
  • Packet of frozen seafood (see picture below)
  • Mushrooms, chopped large
  • One small yellow onion, sliced thin
  • One clove of garlic, chopped
  • Half lime
  • Half bunch of cilantro chopped (neat tip: put the cilantro in a plastic cup and “chop” with a scissors in the cup)
  • Red chili flakes
  • Cumin
  • Black pepper
  • Salt
  • Olive oil and butter
  • Parmesan cheese

So I found this awesome frozen PanaPesca seafood mix at Market Basket in Somerville. It was in their fresh seafood section. It’s not a huge amount but costs under $4 and mixing it with some kind of pasta gives me the perfect meal for two servings for two. I suggest looking for it! If you simply can’t do the frozen seafood, feel free to throw in real seafood. The cooking times are likely similar.

Prep the onions, mushrooms, garlic and cilantro while the pasta is boiling. In a large deep pan, heat olive oil and butter over medium heat. When the butter melts add in red pepper flakes to your heat preference. Let that simmer for a bit, and then add in the onions, mushrooms, and garlic. Cook until slightly brown. Sprinkle black pepper (be generous) and 1 tsp to 1 tbsp of cumin and stir up. Put the seafood (frozen) into the pan and scoop the veggies on top. Put the cover on and cook for about 3-4 mins. Take off the cover, and break up the seafood if needed (although at this point it should be all separated with some liquid in the pan). Squeeze in the lime and add half the cilantro and cook for 3-4 more mins.

Stir in the pasta, adding more salt, pepper, cumin and red pepper flakes to your taste. Add in the cilantro pasta water to your desired “sauciness” and allow to cook for about 3 more mins. Let rest for 5 mins and enjoy! Add Parmesan cheese as desired!

Clearly I need to work on my food presentation and photography skillz! Next time!

