Review #11: The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larrson

Interestingly enough, I think this was my favorite of the “The Girl” series, even though it was the least action-packed. Warning, spoilers for the other novels may follow:

We start the story shortly after Lisbeth is brought to the hospital after digging herself out of a grave after being shot. The story jumps very quickly into Mikael’s ongoing investigation into the SIS within SAPO, and the conspiracy surrounding Lisbeth and her father, Zalachenko. Lisbeth is facing trial for wacking her father in the face with a shovel, and Mikael is determined to gather the evidence to show her civil rights have been violated throughout her entire life. We also get two side stories: a love story for Mikael, and a stalker for Berger. I loved the interactions between Lisbeth and Berger on the latter, as they were quite unexpected.

The first novel was a pretty straight forward murder mystery, while the second was more spy-action-thriller. This one is more like a courtroom thriller, and is reminiscent in some ways of old school John Grisham (back when he could write) and The Lincoln Lawyer. There was lots of investigation going on, and all the connections coming together. Lisbeth’s trial, and the cross-examination of Dr. Teleborian were both completely thrilling and page-turning. I love books with fast-paced courtroom drama and interrogations so those 50 or so pages were right up my alley.

Overall, I thought this was a nice wrap-up to the series, and I am quite saddened that we will not be able to read more from this author. I would have liked to spend more time with Lisbeth and Mikael, but alas, the time I had was sweet enough.

